Call me later, Ishmael.

My first year of teaching (2007-2008 school year), my students told me that they had read a book with their previous teacher and then had contacted the author by phone and had the opportunity to ask him questions.  I thought this was pretty interesting and a great way to pique student interest in reading.  I was impressed and wondered what the teacher before me had done to get fired, since at least she had good ideas.  I asked the students what book they had read and that they had been so fortunate as to contact the author.  I’ll just leave their answer here, for reflection:

 

“Moby-Dick”

3 thoughts on “Call me later, Ishmael.

  1. Well, they do tend to frown on any practice of religion in public schools, so I guess if she were a medium…

Leave a Reply

