It’s a two step process.

A student asked me to read the assignment to him because he couldn’t see the board due to a glare from the windows.   This is the exchange that followed:

 

Me: “Read the story on page ### then answer the questions at the end of the story with a partner.”

Student: “Can you explain that more?  I don’t get it.”

Me: “Sure, first you read the story, “Story Title” on page ###.  When you and your partner are both finished reading the story, answer the questions at the end.”

Student: “I still don’t get it.”

Me: “Read the story, then answer the questions at the end.”

Student: “Wait, there’s a story?”

3 thoughts on “It’s a two step process.

  1. At least your students respond, ours just sit there like bumps on logs. It’s as if they feel responding verbally to a question, or comment, by the teacher would be fatal.

  2. I am so confused. How could someone really and truly not understand that? How?? Howwwww?! If anyone ever again tells me they think I’d be a great teacher, I’ll refer them to this post and then tell them the actions I would take next (jumping out a window? stabbing myself in the eye with a piece of chalk?). Then they’d say that I should indeed not become a teacher.
    hahaha :)

  3. When you post anecdotes like this one, I feel like the kids are just trying to get a rise out of you.

    At least, that’s what I keep telling myself.

Leave a Reply

