What about Breakfast at…never mind.

This one comes from BookNerd, commenting on an earlier post, “As the days go by”

 

The 8th grade girls had a bad habit of running around saying this line over and over: “I just had an epiphany/I need to go to Tiffany’s.” (From a Nicki Minaj song) When I finally couldn’t stand it anymore, I asked them if they knew what an epiphany was. Dead silence. Then I asked them if any of them could spell it. Again, silence. Finally, one of them said that an epiphany was a sandwich.

“I’m sorry…what?”
“Yeah, a sandwich. And she needs to go to her friend Tiffany’s so she can get her sandwich.”

 

3 thoughts on “What about Breakfast at…never mind.

  1. I like the inconsistency. “I just had an epiphany” translates to “I just had a sandwich”… but then she needs to go to her friend Tiffany’s so she can get her sandwich which she already had???? Thumbs up for brilliance. Then again, Nicki Minaj isn’t exactly a Rhodes scholar so… if the song did mean this, via her own ignorance of the actual definition of epiphany, I would not be surprised.

Leave a Reply

