More stories from other teachers:

Ann gives us this gem:

As a former math teacher, I decided to give my kids who were more language inclined a chance to catch up on points a little bit. For a few points extra credit they could give me an “algebraic alphabet” – a math related word and example for every letter of the alphabet. For considerably more points, they could write a short biography of a mathematician’s life. One student printed out a web page including an autobiography, used a pen to change every place the author said “I” or “me” or “my” to “he” (regardless of the context) and then truly wondered why he didn’t get any points.

 

Andi, a student, tells us this story which happened in one of her classes:

It was in my eighth grade advanced algebra class, which was a ninth grade course. My teacher had us working on a word problem that was something about finding the area of two new poolowner’s pools. I, being a mix of both curious and a smart-mouth, asked why it couldn’t have been a homeowner. That led into a conversation about homeowners and poolowners, until one kid raised looks up and asked, “What’s a home owner?” My algebra teacher looked like he was about to have a heart attack he was laughing so hard.

 

Greg wants us to know that a number of his students have been spelling our president’s name “O’bama”.  Perhaps he was actually born in Ireland?

 

Kate shares a few great anecdotes:

Words made up by my students:

Upducked, as in “He was upducked by aliens.”
I wonder how the duck feels about that.

Fictionary, as in “The war is real, but the aliens are fictionary.”
Is that like Pictionary but you draw picture of things that aren’t real?

Kate: We’re going over exercise 6 (referring to exercises numbered in Roman numerals.)
Student: Which one? I don’t speak Roman.

Student:  Is there an old York?  Like, there’s New York?
Kate:  Yes, it’s in England.

Student:  Is there an old Jersey?
Kate:  I think so.
Student:  Well, is there an old Mexico?
Kate: …yes.  Look to the south.

 

 

3 thoughts on “More stories from other teachers:

  1. When I was in HS I had this exchange with a girl:

    Her: (openly to the class) so… do shell-less peanuts grow that way or does someone have to take them out of the shell

    Me: Actually they are genetically engineered to grow that way, like boneless chickens.

    Her: Really!? Oh my gosh that is so cruel.

    Me: …….

    This girl was VP of national honors society and had been in gifted since the 2nd grade.

Leave a Reply

