No, we’ll make an exception for you because you’re so special.

My students were given a homework assignment where they were to write a (very) short story.  The topic was up to them, and the only rule I told them was that they needed to have at least 20 complete sentences.  My exchange with the students went something like this:

 

Me: “So, basically there is only one rule: make sure you have at least twenty sentences.  This is very important because if your story is any less than this, you will not receive any credit.  Everyone got that?  Write a story about anything you can imagine, but make sure you have twenty complete sentences or more, not less.”

 

Student: “Do I have to do twenty sentences?”

3 thoughts on “No, we’ll make an exception for you because you’re so special.

  1. I read these every day. It seems to me that your class is kind of like Celebrity Jeopardy on SNL..haha your blog brightens my day!!!

  2. Sometimes I wonder if students say this just to freak out the teacher.

    I once held a class discussion on a piece about the college campus bus system. One student swore up and down that every night around 2:00 AM (when the buses do their last run), a guy in a banana suit boarded one shuttle. Never having seen Banana Suit Guy before or since, well…

Leave a Reply

