And now for a break from my students…(1)

A few days before the first day of school, we were scheduled to have an open house for the parents and students to meet the teachers and get ideas of what they would be learning for the school year.  My air conditioning wasn’t working that week, and it had been a particularly hot week.  I survived being without A/C for the week by being in my classroom as little as possible, taking my lesson plans and laptop to the cafeteria, teacher’s lounge, and even another teacher’s classroom.  On the day of open house, however, I would not be able to do any of these things, as I would have to welcome the parents and students into my own classroom.  I asked the director of the school about this, and this is the conversation we had:

 

Me: “So, my A/C still isn’t working.”

Director: “Yeah, we don’t have the money to fix it.”

Me: “Do I let the parents know that at tonight’s open house?”

Director: “You better not, just tell them it just stopped working a few minutes ago.”

One thought on “And now for a break from my students…(1)

Leave a Reply

