Thirty-third time still isn’t the charm.

My first year of teaching, I was told that my students were all very poor writers due to a combination of things, including their previous teachers.  I was told I needed to have them practice writing informative essays at least once a week for the entire school year.  I did this, starting the second week of school.  Every week, the students were to complete a five paragraph essay, following the rules set forth by the state writing assessment.  On the thirty-fourth week of school (marking the thirty-third essay the students would be writing) I got this question:

 

Student: “Mister Karabekian, how long this one has to be?”

Me: “Five paragraphs, like always.”

Student: “Oh, I can do two?”

Me: “You’ve been doing five all year, why would you be allowed to do two?”

Student: “It cool, I’ll do three.”

Leave a Reply

