And THAT’S why I always order from the inside counter.

I am sure this has happened to other teachers, but the sheer disrespect is what convinced me to post this dialog here:

 

Student: “Mister Karabekian, what the difference between ‘through’ and ‘thru’?

Me: “Nothing, ‘t-h-r-u’ is just an abbreviation of ‘t-h-r-o-u-g-h’.”

Student: “Nah, that ain’t right, you don’t know nothing about English and you an English teacher?  Thru be on all them drive thrus and stuff, I ain’t never seen no McDonald’s with a ‘Drive Through'”

Me: “That’s because it works as an abbreviation, and because some people might get confused when they find themselves unable to read the word ‘through'”

 

I’m not sure she should have been discussing who “knows about English”, but I dealt with that privately after class.

2 thoughts on “And THAT’S why I always order from the inside counter.

  1. My wife and I have been reading this since we stumbled upon it a few months ago. We both can’t believe middle school students are this…challenged. It’s been almost 2 decades since I’ve been in middle school and I don’t recall talking to my teachers in that manner. You have the patience of a saint.

Leave a Reply

